Spring Fever

Standard

It is a dark and rainy Sunday morning here, but it really doesn’t bother me because I am on spring break! It was super late this year and my students were going absolutely stir crazy by the end. I love my job, but it’s always nice to get away for a little while and not have to be anyone’s teacher. Just for a smidge of time. As you can imagine, I am taking this week to knit like it is going out of style. Knit like there is no tomorrow. Knit like it is 1999. I’m sure you understand what I mean.

I’ve had a few projects on the needles that I have been alternating between. I’m having trouble sticking to just one thing these days. The first one is my hexipuffs. It has been a while since I’ve worked on these little cuties and I knit about five this week out of leftover yarn from my Hiro sweater. I think I have decided that I will be making puffs for the rest of my life. Literally. I have no immediate plans to ever see it finished and I think it would be cool to continuously add to it with yarn leftovers from other projects. Almost like a knitting scrapbook. I like using up all of the yarn I buy and this is a great way to do so. Does anyone know of any other blanket projects that use up scrap yarn nicely?

Image

Vinnie got a little nosey during my puff photo shoot.

Image

This last week I made significant gains on my Still Light Tunic. I am about halfway done with the body and that is no small feat. Since this is essentially a dress made out of fingering weight yarn, and it is almost all stockinette, it has been quite a long haul. It is a little boring and it grows at a very slow pace. It is definitely one of those projects where I want the finished item in my wardrobe, but I’m not super thrilled about the idea of putting in the time to make it. The saving grace on this project is the yarn. It is Wildwood 70/30 (since discontinued) and it is a dream! The yarn was a gift from my aunt, who sews and beads and definitely appreciates textile arts. I want it to be done so I have something to show her, but I need to put it down for a little while.

Image

Lastly this week, I cast on for Burrard. It is a nicely wooly, cabley cardigan, just about as un-perfect for summertime ware as you can get. Oh well. I was dreaming of cables. I just needed to knit them. Cables are definitely my favorite knitting technique and all the stockinette I was doing left me needing some texture in my life. I’m knitting it out of Wool of the Andes Superwash, a gift from my mother who also quilts, bead, and loves all things fabric (my mom and my aunt are identical twins and they kind of share a brain. It is so wonderful when the people in your life really “get it”, you know). I don’t have a great picture, though, at this point in time. I got about six inches into one of the sides and I realized I had done the wrong cable motif. I stop working, went and saw Captain America with my sister, and debated the whole time on whether I could get away with trying to make my mistake work out. I decided that I could get away with it, but it would drive me crazy every time I looked at this sweater. I went home and frogged it. I started again, but this time on the back piece. I’ll go back to those pesky fronts later. I have a pretty lofty goal of finishing the whole back of the sweater by the time my break is over. I think I can!

Image

P.S. – After a six-month yarn diet, I binged. Hard. Stay tuned later in the week for a run down of all the beautiful new yarns I purchased!

Leave a comment